Invite Gone Bad!!!!!!!

We all breathe a sigh of relief once we get that invite. It’s as if the battle has been won and the wait is finally over. Well…Not really!!!

After receiving my Moldova invite, I went through the Volunteer Handbook with a fine tooth comb!1) Because I’m anil! 2) Because I’m anxious and I want to know as much as I can as fast as I can. Well, I discovered a very important note in the Health section of the handbook…If you start any new medications after having been medically cleared you have to alert OMS. Well, I didn’t think it would be that big of a deal, seeing as though the major health issues had been resolved. Reporting a new medication seemed rather minute.

To make a long story short, OMS has put a hold on my account due to this new development and if things do not go according to plan over the next few weeks I may not be able to depart in June.  Needless to say, I am in a bad mood, although I am trying to be optimistic about this entire situation. It’s just really hard considering there is NOTHING I mean I can’t think of ONE THING I’d rather do than be a Peace Corps volunteer at this point in time. If I can’t leave in June, I won’t have another assignment until 2011, which would probably temporarily devastate me!!!!!

Along with lots of intense prayer, I’m gathering the paperwork, making the neccessary appointments, and trusting that I am mean to do this.

Let this be a learning experience for all of you out there…make sure you are logistically set BEFORE your departure date! Read the handbook and follow it!!! I was told that had I waited to bring this up in country, I could have been sent home!!! My spirits are a little low, but hopefully I’ll have better news in a few weeks.

4 Comments

Filed under Peace Corps

4 responses to “Invite Gone Bad!!!!!!!

  1. Even though this sucks, everything happens for a reason. Think about how much more dissapointed you would be if you were there and they sent you home.The biggest hurdle has already been accomplished right? They cleared the major health condition. I’m sure everything will be fine, and this setback only helps you appreciate the invite for Moldova more.

  2. I am so sorry to see this latest development 😦 But hopefully everything will clear up and you will get to depart for Moldova as planned! I am curious though why would you have to wait till 2011 if you cannot leave in June? Is it cause you will be medically delayed or are they saying programs may be full? Cause that is strange to see such a push back. I really hope this is all taken care of though and you don’t have to wait so long! I’m crossing my fingers for you!

    • Hey Amanda, the reason I’d have to wait until 2011 is because the rest of the countries leaving in 2010 can’t medically accommodate me. I appreciate the support from you and Zurk though! I’m just so close and i would hate for anything to jeopardize it.

  3. It is great you let the PC know and provide the info cuz…the process you are going through will repeat again and again in different forms as you serve. Best to take the adjectives out of it or your roller coaster is about to do some double loops. Once in country you continual “apply” that is why the process of initial application is so “self directed” Stay strong and remember to pack your surrender. peace

Leave a Reply

