Generation…Useless?

Yesterday, I sat in my creative poetry class and listened to my accomplished yet cankerous professor, verbally murder Generation Y, as only he could. As a generation, he accused us of being APATHETIC, unaware of the challenges of our time, UNWILLING to SELF-EDUCATE, and disinterested in expanding our psyche.

In so many words, Generation Y doesn’t care about anything but mass consumption, because technology has debilitated our minds to a point where we are rarely useful to anyone or anything.We will forever pale in comparison to the poets, activists, essayists and leaders of the 60’s.

I realize everyone is entitled to their own opinion…but comments such as the aforementioned leave me asking:

IS ANYONE PAYING ATTENTION?

The popularity of programs such as Teach for America and Peace Corps, where people are granted the opportunity to serve and make a difference, is on the rise with Gen Y. Our technology brilliantly disseminates information faster than any archaic newspaper or radio EVER could. In fact, our technology has helped us uncover more lies, display more truths and EMPOWER the voice of the masses, while weakening the influence of a privileged few.

And who says we’re apathetic? Just this month, I picked up the latest copy of GLAMOUR magazine, after getting the scoop on the latest fashion trends and celebrity gossip, and read how two YOUNG Americans (30 and 22) dedicated their lives to serving orphanages in Haiti. These girls helped find homes for 57  Haitan orphans after the earthquake hit. With countless amnesty groups and other student movements, it is clear that generation y is not only AWARE we are willing to actually DO something!

My point is that as a generation we do not have a LACK of concern, there is just WAY more to be concerned about. Back in the 60’s everyone united for the same causes under a few leaders. Therefore, their activism was always noticed. Now days, there is so much to fight for, who can determine what is most important? We are inherently fragmented by our desire to change the world. As the human race progresses, the world becomes more and more complex. Leaving us to ask ourselves:  where do I start?

Let me make it clear, I don’t believe Generation Y is superior nor inferior to any other generation. I do believe the world is vastly different from what it used to be.

Therefore,  comparing our behaviors, beliefs, and actions to our parents and grandparents generations is like sending our troops to Iraq and Afghanistan…Not a good idea to begin with.

I’m hopping off my soap box now…would love to hear what you people think!

5 Comments

Filed under A Little Bit of This

5 responses to “Generation…Useless?

  1. Samantha

    Hi! I finally got a chance to read your blog and I’m so glad! I said the same thing to myself (about God laughing at my plans) and I needed to hear it again today; glad I read this!

    The PC language program is awesome and I had a really patient host family. In the beginning, it’s exhausting learning the language — all I did was sleep! But I love languages and it worked out for me (I learned Romanian). Each person has their own experience, but I wish you the best of luck and I’m looking forward to following your blog.

    Samantha

  2. Farfum

    Hello my fellow Peace Corp Volunteer. I hope this message finds you well. My name is Farfum Ladroma and I am an education volunteer in the Kingdom of Tonga in the South Pacific. I am writing to you all today because I need your help! My students and I at GPS MATAMAKA (an outer-island Government Primary School in Vava’u) are pursuing a “POSTCARD PROJECT.” I am asking for other PCVs outside of Tonga to please send us a postcard from your host country. We are trying to collect as many postcards from around the world, especially in countries where Peace Corps is currently operating. This project will help enhance my student’s understanding of other cultures and share what Peace Corps volunteers do all across the globe. I will keep a running list of all the postcards received with their origin on my blog at: http://farfumandtonga.blogspot.com/. You may check if your postcard successfully makes it to Tonga. This will be a great cultural exchange for everyone involved and a lot of fun. Please help out if you can and tell everyone you know (even your friends and families back home)! I would greatly appreciate your participation. Thank you very much and malo ‘aupito mei Tonga.
    Please send postcards to:
    MATAMAKA GPS
    c/o Peace Corps
    P.O. Box 136
    Neiafu, VAVA’U
    KINGDOM OF TONGA
    SOUTH PACIFIC

    Best,
    -Farfum (aka Feleti)

  3. Melissa

    I am just submitted my application a few days ago and can’t stop searching through blogs = )

    I think you make a fantastic point about how people are helping, but it isn’t obvious because we aren’t uniting behind one specific cause.

    If we united behind one specific cause, more might be accomplished, but others would be neglegted

  4. SLR

    Go away! Nice rant but really, you’re all hopelessly lazy and don’t know what a hard days work is. Thankfully, you’re all about to be ruthlessly educated with the current state of the economic world.
    I have a business and refuse to hire anyone under 32 as every single Gen Y that has come through the door has been utterly useless.
    I fear for my life as I age into the future. And I’m only 35. You’re all hopeless idiots.

Leave a Reply

