THE WAIT IS OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know two days ago I was acting as if my life was OVER because I was STILL waiting on news about my placement. However, after agonizing for hours, and reading so many other blogs that expressed similar sentiments, I decided that I was going to think of a very good reason to call my Placement Officer without sounding… oh, I don’t know…impatient? (hahahah)

So me being the clever girl I am, called my PO  up and told her that I wanted to do some language preparation and did she have any idea what language I should start focusing on?

Her response was, so glad you called Laquia. I actually have news for you.

My breath catches, my heart stops, and I’m sitting there silently praising GOD as she continues on to tell me that Africa didn’t work out for me. Bummer but life goes on. However, they found a really good placement for me in EASTERN EUROPE as a HEALTH EDUCATOR. Apparently, the country I am assigned too has many preventative health issues and health education is needed.

I’m very excited about this opportunity and definitely expressed that about ONE MILLION times before she said that my invite will be in the mail either today or tomorrow. I can finally exhale now that I know my file isn’t lodged underneath someone’s desk collecting dust.

I still don’t know many details, but I will find out when my invitation comes in the mail. I’m 99.99% sure I’ll be going to MOLDOVA, which I didn’t even know existed prior to my phone call. SOOOO SAD!

Anyway, I will finally be able to get some sleep, now that the stressing is over. Good luck to all of you out there still anxiously waiting for your assignment!

In the mean time, I’ll be feeding off this high and researching Moldova!

11 Comments

Filed under Peace Corps

11 responses to “THE WAIT IS OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS, LAQUIA!!! That’s what is means to be a leader for “America and the global community”! 🙂

  2. Donna

    Congratulations! I told my family that I’ll be using a similar question when I call the PO. Thank you.

  3. Looks like I wasn’t using too overly hopeful language on Ashleigh’s blog. Congrats on the invite 🙂

  4. Matt

    HI! I just heard that my invite is in the mail too! I am also 99.99999% sure I’ll be in Moldova too! So I’ll see ya there!

  5. Wow that’s great! CONGRATULATIONS! When do you leave?

  6. MOM CAREDIA

    Oh So Proud Of YOU! CONGRATS! YOU ARE GONNA BE AN AWESOME EDUCATOR! MOLDOVA WATCH OUT! HERE SHE COMES!

  7. Holy crap. Me next please?? lol Congrats lady! I can’t wait to hear if you’re right about Moldova! 🙂

  8. M. Scho

    Yay Homie! So happy for you! You’ll be great!

  9. graceinpeace

    I have a Moldovan friend who was taught English by a Peace Corps Volunteer (small world). It’s a beautiful country. If you’re trying to learn about the country you should check out O-Zone – Moldova’s very own N-Sync (I think they’ve disbanded as well). You might recognize the intro from a newer song…

Leave a Reply

