Waiting…

When I first started my Peace Corps application last April, I knew that it would be a long and tedious process. I’d been warned by those that have gone before me that it would be a true test of patience, which is something I know I will need during my 27 months of service.

Still, I turned in my application as soon as I could. I completed my medical and dental forms in record time, and all of the additional experience my recruiter suggested I get (CPR and First Aid Certification) was set-up immediately.

So as you can guess, I may be a lot of things…but I am NOT patient.

Most nights I stay awake, in the darkest of hours, reading Peace Corps Journals until fatigue overwhelms anxiety. When will it be my turn? I ask myself over and over and over and over and over and over again…No really, I ask myself that SOOOOO many times. It’s becoming impossible to contain my excitement!

What’s even worse is that today THREE acquaintances of mine on THREE separate occasions asked me the same questions: Did you get an invitation yet? What’s your location? It’s really taking a long time, isn’t it Laquia?

I forced a smile and tried not to scream out “DUH, IT’S TAKING A LONG TIME! CAN’T YOU SEE I’M BARELY MAKING IT?!” After all, the truth of the matter is, their guess is as good as mine.

Earlier this month my Placement Officer called to tell me that I should find out something by the end of the month, but it may take a while longer due to certain circumstances. As far as I’m concerned, it’s already the end of the month and I’m due for a phone call any day now.

But until something changes, I’ll be focusing on GRADUATION MAY 7th & 8th!!!!!!!!

I better hear something before then…because I really do hate WAITING!

7 Comments

Filed under Peace Corps

7 responses to “Waiting…

  1. aww a blog!!! soon, soon you will get your placement. Then you will be immersed in learning everything there is to know about that country.

  2. shar

    Hey! What country and month are expected to leave? I am also trying to be patient as well. I’m nominated for Asia and supposed to leave in July. Soooo soonn. No invitation thus far…

    • I’m supposed to leave May 31st! I might be in either Ghana or Cameroon. However, I’ve been told to EXPECT my date to change. I’m finding that a bit difficult to do. :/

  3. Brittany

    I am so excited you have a blog… now I can keep up with you. lol I know it’s stressful waiting. Trust me… you’ll be leaving all too soon! Miss ya!

  4. Amen! I am not patient either, I can’t believe you’ve been waiting so long, I submitted my application last September and I’m already pulling my hair out. I’m hoping to hear any day now, the Health Desk said they are going to try to start July-September by the end of March so I’m keeping ny fingers crossed.
    I hope we all hear something soon and no or dies from Restless Applicant Syndrome! 🙂

  5. I’ve been waiting since last April too so I totally feel your pain! My nomination is for August 2010 which means by the time I leave I will have been doing this Peace Corps application process for 16 months! Waiting is crazy making, completely and utterly crazy making. Because my departure is so far away Peace Corps doesn’t consider me a priority yet but WOW May 31st and still no word, you’re probably going even more crazy than me at the moment. Hang in there!

  6. M. Scho

    Homie, I am so excited your blog is up! They’ll call you anyday now! They’re just making sure everything is perfect! Love ya and miss ya!

Leave a Reply

